1 Branson. com MO Forum

Welcome to 1 Branson. com

Go Back   1Branson.com > Miscellaneous Topics > Just for Chit Chat

Closed Thread

Old 07-05-2012, 10:08 PM   #1
Critter
Super Ultra Member

New Road (to me) in Branson

I am not good at telling what the names of roads are, but it is the road leading to the landing if you are coming from Kmart? It is right about the interstate. That one area there. WHY did they design it this way??? You drive on the opposite side of the road!!!! lol David didn't understand why they designed it like this. He thought maybe it was for the on and off ramps. I thought it was just confusing!
Old 07-05-2012, 10:25 PM   #2
rjw1991A1
Super Ultra Member

It's called a diverging diamond: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Divergi...nd_interchange It's supposed to speed up traffic, but to me it looks like it could be a confusing mess to some.
The first one I was on is in the St. Louis area at Dorset Rd as it passes under I-270. At first it looks like instead of staying on dorset Rd, it is going to take you to Northbound I-270.
I think the college grad engineers that thought up this one found some really good stuff to smoke first!!!
Old 07-06-2012, 06:18 AM   #3
biscuitcreek
Super Ultra Member

The Missouri highway department is a big fan of the diverging diamond. There are already 2 or 3 of them in Springfield.

The road is Highway 248.
Old 07-06-2012, 06:35 AM   #4
Ms_Terese
Local Member

It's improved the traffic flow so much, I wouldn't care if I had to drive upside down...
Old 07-06-2012, 06:48 AM   #5
VBeason
Super Ultra Member

I agree Ms. Terese. This has helped the traffic so much through there. Not so much backup. I've driven through the one in Springfield at 13 & I44 and fell in love with it. They are putting a couple more in Kansas City in high traffic places. But it really does help with the traffic flow.

Vickie
Old 07-06-2012, 07:46 AM   #6
lkb5271
Super Ultra Member

Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Critter View Post